Lost in my 30’s

Hi there, and thanks for checking out my blog. I decided to write this because I keep thinking that I know where I’m headed and then something sends me wildly off course. For example: I have been working towards healthy living for a couple years now, but that morning tea or extra glass of wine will always find its way into my hand… and then, of course, once I start I can’t stop. I have no self-control so moderation – that beautiful ‘key’ that is discussed on all diet, health, and fitness websites – goes straight out the window.

Or how about my track record with relationships? I thought I was doing it right: I found the right man and (quite literally) moved across the world to make it work, only to find out that he was not the right man at all. I ended a 6.5 year relationship only 2 months before my 30th birthday and though I couldn’t have been happier with that decision, it left me wondering if that was my only chance. My dating track record ever since does lead me to believe that maybe the wrong man is the only kind of man out there.  Then I still find myself reading about the success stories of online dating and think maybe – maybe – the next one won’t show up being 10 years older than his photo, or won’t tell me I owe him a beer for making him take the bus to meet me… maybe. There were one or two nice ones too, but if spitting wine all over the table and his shirt (oh right, I’m also super clumsy) didn’t have him running for the hills, well, I don’t know what would.

So this has brought me to blogging. The way I see it is that I can’t possibly be alone in these experiences, trying and failing at daily self-improvements while barely holding onto a moderately successful career and constantly fighting the social pressures that told me I should be married with kids by now. But that’s not me. I’m a traveller with very different priorities to most people, trying to find contentment in a ‘normal’ life. So here’s what really happens when you try: to live as a vegetarian (that lasted 2 days) or a minimalist (still working on it) or try meditating on the bus (DO NOT fall asleep, trust me).

Leave a Reply

